Mobilizing the Co-Benefits of Climate Change Mitigation through Capacity Building among Public Policy Institutions (COBENEFITS)

With the ratification of the Paris climate agreement from 2015, member states of the UNFCCC made the committment to implement national plans for climate change mitigation and adaptation (NDCs). The promotion of renewable energies is an important part of these plans, but is also essential to meet development targets.

From a „yes“ to wind- and solar power does not only profit the climate: The priorization of renewables goes along with social and economic opportunities, the so-called co-benefits.

These opportunities include public health, the protection of natural resources, improved energy safety, accelerating access to electricity, improved investment opportunities and local value-creation.

Climate and energy policies in countries with a fastly growing energy demand, like India, South Africa, Vietnam and Turkey are currently at the crossroads. Their decisions on energy investments can create path dependencies for decades to come.

In national discussions about future energy policies, co-benefits are important arguments which can support the decision for more renewable energies. They can contribute positively to enter a sustainable and climate-friendly development path.

Here it is especially important that co-benefits do not stay abstract and un-specific, but are tailored to meet the political and social needs in the individual countries.

The COBENEFITS project starts here by offering ministries, public authorities and non-governmental organizations in its project countries a „tailor-made“ consulting to this topic.

In collaboration with national knowledge partners in India, South Africa, Vietnam and Turkey, the project elaborates country specific co-benefits of climate policies, with emphasis on the opportunities presented by renewable power generation.

It enables international mutual learning and capacity building among policy makers, knowledge partners and multipliers on seizing the social and economic co-benefits of climate change mitigation, through

  • Country-specific assessment reports of social and economic co-benefits of renewable power generation
  • Training materials, online courses and face-to-face trainings on seizing co-benefits of renewable power generation
  • Mobilising the co-benefits of Climate Change Mitigation through capacity building among public policy institutions
  • Political dialogue sessions on enabling political environments and overcoming barriers to seize the co-benefits

COBENEFITS connects the social and economic opportunities of renewable energies to climate change mitigation strategies. It thereby builds strong alliances and lowers political barriers to revise and effectively implement the Nationally Determined Contributions to the 2015 Paris Agreement on Climate Change.

Mobilisierung von Zusatznutzen des Klimaschutzes durch die Beratung von politischen Institutionen (CoBenefits)

Die Förderung von erneuerbaren Energien ist für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung unverzichtbar. Sie ist zudem ein wichtiger Teil der nationalen Pläne zum Klimaschutz und zur Klimaanpassung (Nationally Determined Contributions – NDCs), zu deren Umsetzung sich die Vertragsstaaten des UNFCCC mit der Ratifizierung des Klimaabkommens von Paris in 2015 verpflichtet haben.

Von einem „Ja“ zu Wind- und Solarenergie profitiert jedoch nicht nur das Klima: Vielmehr geht die Priorisierung von Erneuerbaren meist mit einer Reihe positiver Zusatzeffekte einher, den sogenannten Co-Benefits. Darunter fallen beispielsweise eine bessere Luftqualität, der Schutz natürlicher Ressourcen, die Förderung technologischer Entwicklung, mehr Energiesicherheit, ein besserer Zugang zu Elektrizität, aber auch die Schaffung von zukunftssicheren Arbeitsplätzen.

Länder mit einem stark steigenden Energiebedarf wie die Türkei, Indien, Südafrika und Vietnam stehen in den nächsten Jahren vor energie- und klimapolitischen Entscheidungen, welche ihre energiepolitische Zukunft auf Jahrzehnte hin beeinflussen werden.

In den nationalen Diskussionen über die zukünftigen Energiepolitiken in diesen Partnerländern sind Co-Benefits wichtige Argumente für die Entscheidung für mehr erneuerbare Energien. Sie können deshalb positiv zum Beschreiten eines nachhaltigen und klimafreundlichen Entwicklungsweges beitragen.

Hierbei ist jedoch von großer Bedeutung, dass die Zusatzeffekte nicht abstrakt und allgemein bleiben, sondern dass sie individuell auf die politischen und gesellschaftlichen Bedürfnisse in den jeweiligen Ländern zugeschnitten werden.

Das Projekt COBENEFITS setzt hier an, indem es Ministerien, Behörden und Nichtregierungsorganisationen in den Projektländern zukünftig eine „maßgeschneiderte“ Beratung zu diesem Thema  ermöglicht.

Gemeinsam mit nationalen Wissenspartnern in Indien, Südafrika, Vietnam und der Türkei spezifiziert das Projekt länderspezifische Co-Benefits von Klimapolitiken, mit Schwerpunkt auf Möglichkeiten durch nachhaltige Energien.

Das Projekt möchte die Kapazitäten von politischen Entscheidungsträgern, Wissenspartnern und Multiplikatoren stärken, damit diese vermehrt in der Lage sind, die positiven sozialen und ökonomischen Nebenwirkungen von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen erfolgreich zu nutzen.

Diese Kenntnisse sollen aufgearbeitet und verbreitet werden durch:

  • Länderspezifische Berichte über die sozialen und ökonomischen Wirkungen erneuerbarer Energien.
  • Trainingsmaterialien, Onlinekurse und Präsenzschulungen über die Co-Benefits erneuerbarer Energien.
  • Mobilisierung der positiven Nebenwirkungen von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen durch die Stärkung politischer Institutionen
  • Politische Dialogrunden, um ein begünstigendes politisches Umfeld zu schaffen und Barrieren zur Nutzung der Co-Benefits abzubauen.

COBENEFITS verbindet die sozialen und ökonomischen Möglichkeiten erneuerbarer Energien mit Klimaschutzstrategien. So bildet es starke Allianzen und verringert die politischen Hemmnisse zur Überprüfung und effektiven Umsetzung der NDCs des Pariser Klimaabkommens von 2015.